Psalm: Bloody Roots

by bobbyrayhurd

When the LORD speaks with Cain after he murders Abel, the LORD says, “What have you done? Listen! Your brother’s blood cries out to me from the ground.”
______________________

Roots…bloody roots

Yes, like the blood of Abel
cries out from the ground
It’s not some moral fable
but witness to how we’re found

by our…

Roots….bloody roots

Just like Pharaoh’s slaves
Cried out for salvation
For deliverance from their graves
And the curse of damnation

by their…

Roots…bloody roots

Just like the conquered cries
To the G-d of their exile
To once again have eyes
that see beyond the Nile

by their…

Roots…bloody roots

Oh, friend Jesus, my image of divine
Renew me with your passion
Bear me your fruit
That flows from your blood, your vine
of the cross, of the broken, of the ashen
And shows that G-d, like me, has roots…

Bloody roots

